London scolded Putin's oligarchs

The United Kingdom was the first to impose sanctions against the Russian Federation. Five Russian banks, businessmens Igor and Boris Rotenberg, as well as Gennady Timchenko, were subject to restrictions.
Origin source
ВBritain announced sanctions against Russia on the night of February 22. Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced the restrictions. The document was published on the website of the Parliament. The following were sanctioned:

Bank "Russia",

· Industrial Savings Bank,



· Black Sea Bank.

Also, the authorities will freeze the assets of Gennady Timchenko, Boris and Igor Rotenberg in the country, banning them from entering the UK.

Igor Rotenberg's father Arkady Rotenberg has been under British sanctions since 2014. Igor Rotenberg himself, co-owner of RT-Invest Transport Systems LLC (Platon's operator), is subject to US restrictions.

Arkady Rotenberg's younger brother Boris is a co-owner of SMP Bank. Gennady Timchenko, the owner of the investment company Volga Grour, has also been under US sanctions since 2014.

In the event of a full-scale invasion of Ukraine, Britain is ready to impose additional sanctions against the Russian Federation. London understands the invasion and the entry of Russian troops into the DPR and LPR, Johnson explained. He urged to prepare "for a protracted crisis."

A significant part of the shareholders of Rossiya Bank are people from Putin's inner circle. The largest shareholder is businessman Yuri Kovalchuk. The bank is already under US sanctions.

Since 2017, Promsvyazbank has been state-owned. Three years ago, it was given the authority of a base bank for the Ministry of Defense - in fact, this is the only bank through which the state defense order is processed and carried out. Russia was forced to do this in order to protect other banks from restrictions, which would otherwise work with the Ministry of Defense.

The rest of the banks operate in the Crimea. Even before the sanctions, they were quite limited in their work - for example, they could not issue Visa and MasterCard cards, recalls the BBC Russian Service.

Earlier today, Johnson vowed to strike a "hard hit" with sanctions on Russia after recognizing the self-proclaimed DNR and LNR. In today's speech, he stressed that these are the first steps, he expects further from the European Union and the United States. The European Union will announce new restrictions today. We are talking about a ban on transactions with government bonds, wrote Reuters, citing a source.

On the eve of the head of the DPR and LPR, Denis Pushilin and Leonid Pasechnik appealed to Russian President Vladimir Putin with a request to recognize the independence of the republics. After that, Putin held a meeting of the Security Council, where the heads of departments and ministries supported the initiative. In the evening, the president addressed the Russians, where he announced the recognition of the republics and signed the relevant decrees. The State Duma and the Federation Council approved the federal law on the ratification of the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance with the DNR and LNR.

The Donetsk and Lugansk republics declared their independence in the spring of 2014 against the backdrop of an armed conflict in their territories after a coup d'état in Kiev. Later, the republics held referendums on independence from the country. The US, EU and other states did not recognize the results of this vote. Russia then also refrained from legal recognition.